Personal Injury Attorney in Corpus Christi
Contact Elliott & Ritch Now for a Free Consultation!
Have you been wrongfully injured at no fault of your own? Whether you were injured in a car crash, harmed by a defective product, slipped and fell as a result of dangerous premises, or are the victim of medical malpractice, Elliott & Ritch can help you take legal action. Our Corpus Christi personal injury lawyer has more than 20 years of experience and is well-versed in all types of personal injury and wrongful death cases. Browse our website to learn more about the types of cases we handle or contact our firm for a free consultation. We offer all our services on a contingency fee basis—if we do not win your case, you do not have to pay.
Submit an online contact form or call (361) 733-3003 for a complimentary case evaluation with a member of our team today. Se habla Español.
Texas Personal Injury Laws
When it comes to filing a personal injury claim in Corpus Christi or anywhere throughout the state of Texas, there are a few things you need to know. First and foremost, Texas follows the rule of “modified comparative negligence.” This rule allows the injured person to share liability in the event that they were partially at fault for their own injuries.
What you need to know about pure comparative negligence:
- You may only recover compensation for damages if you are found to be less than 50% at fault for the accident.
- The amount of compensation you will be able to recover extends up to but does not exceed the percentage for which you are at fault.
- This rule is only obligatory in litigation; if your case is resolved through settlement, you may be able to negotiate compensation outside of the parameters of shared fault.
For example, say you are hit by another driver who made an unprotected left turn into your oncoming path. Because the rules of the road state that you had the right-of-way, the other person should be at fault, right? However, if you were speeding ten miles per hour over the speed limit when you were hit, the jury might determine that you were 20% at fault for the accident, while the other motorist was 80% responsible. If you are seeking compensation for $10,000 total in damages, you will only be able to recover up to $8,000.
Additionally, the statute of limitations (or time you have to file a claim) is two years from the date of injury or two years from the date you knew of or should have known of the injury. If you don’t file your claim by this date, the courts will not hear it.
Types of Personal Injury Claims We Handle
Elliott & Ritch is equipped to resolve all kinds of personal injury claims, including:
- Aviation accidents
- Boating accidents
- Commercial trucking accidents
- Dog bites and animal attacks
- Maritime accidents
- Medical malpractice
- Motor vehicle accidents
- Nursing home neglect and abuse
- Premises liability claims
- Product liability claims
- Slip and fall accidents
- Work injuries
- Spinal cord injuries
- Brain injuries
- Wrongful death
Fighting for the Injured Since 2014
If you were severely injured or your loved one was killed as a result of someone else’s negligence, reach out to our personal injury attorney in Corpus Christi to find out how we can help you. We understand just how difficult it is to move forward after a catastrophic accident. Because of this, we strive to provide caring, one-on-one attention and tireless representation throughout the legal process. Our firm is prepared to handle every aspect of your case so that you can focus on healing.
Call (361) 733-3003 or contact us online to schedule a free, confidential consultation. We serve clients nationwide from our offices in Texas and Louisiana.